Falkland Islands

Almost as many islands as citizens.

The Falkland Islands are an archipelago in the South Atlantic Ocean on the Patagonian Shelf. The principal islands are East Falkland, West Falkland and 776 lesser islands. The capital and largest city is Stanley on East Falkland.

Controversy exists over the Falklands' discovery and subsequent colonisation by Europeans. At various times, the islands have had French, British, Spanish, and Argentine settlements. Britain reasserted its rule in 1833, although Argentina invaded the islands on 2 April 1982. The British reclaimed the islands by force ten weeks later. The Falkland Islands have been a self-governing British Overseas Territory since 2009. The majority of the inhabitants are of British descent, and English is the official language.

The Falkland Islands are known for their sheep farming and wool production. The islands also have a small fishing industry.

The Falkland Islands are a popular tourist destination for wildlife lovers and outdoor enthusiasts. The islands are home to a variety of wildlife, including penguins, seals, dolphins, and many bird species. The landscape is also varied, with forests, mountains, and beaches.

The cuisine of the Falkland Islands is heavily influenced by British and Argentine cuisine. Common dishes include fish and chips, shepherd's pie, and Argentine-style steak.

Best places to visit in Falkland Islands

Articles about Falkland Islands

Popular on Humbo right now
Humbo™AboutVisitedBucket listSustainable travelPrivacyTerms